How can I tell he's stopped quilling? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2019, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How can I tell he's stopped quilling?

Total newbie here and I've had my hog for just over a week. Breeder said he had started quilling a few days before I got him and that I should not touch him on the quills for awhile. I've been holding him daily but he takes a while before he opens up and then he lumbers off my hands. If I tried to pet him, I would bet that he'd just ball up.

I have seen very few fallen quills anywhere but his quills on him seemed more ... criss-crossed and "messy" on his back when I first got him.

Is he really quilling? How can I tell if he's still sore? I couldn't get a straight answer as to how long quilling lasts. I've probably seen less than a dozen fallen quills in the week+ I've had him. I expected much more.

http://rabbitsindoors.weebly.com
Mecki is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2019, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)

Hey there! How old is your little guy? Full quilling usually starts at 3-6 weeks old and can last until they’re about 12 weeks, but can be off and on for the first 6 months. When Christina was quilling, I picked up *virtually* every dropped quill every day just to gauge how much she’s dropping, and once it plateaued, she was fine.
Hope this helps 🙂
Aj.t is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2019, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)

Hi Aj, he's 11 weeks old now. I've been hoping to be able to blame quilling on why he hasn't seemed to make much progress.