Mites or Something Else? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2013, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Mites or Something Else?

I've been treating my hedgehog with revolution for the past maybe two months now, and yet there has been no progress with the the "mites". He still continues to lose a lot of quills. He already has a growing patch of quill-less skin on his back. Not so visible, but I know it's there. He's just turned six months on the 14th. Could it be that it's just regular old shedding? I can still see some quills growing along the side of his back.

I brought him to the vet a month before since he was losing fur and I also had him checked up for mites, but he didn't have any. Just to be sure, my vet recommended to put him on revolution and see how that'll affect his fur (just in case the mites were missed during the check up). It grew back, but then he started to lose quills and he has extremely dry skin. Since the problem hasn't gone anywhere and seems to be getting worse, I'm starting to wonder if this sort of quill loss can be caused by something else other than mites. I've checked myself to see if he had any, rubbing his back with a dark cloth and observing said cloth for ridiculous periods of time, waiting to see something move, but nothing. I've done this almost everyday and I'm getting worried that this problem, whatever it is, will never go away.

He has cat food regularly and other fruits, meats, and veggies for variety. He runs on his will constantly (I've been thinking of switching it up to Cat Food for the Cat Lover's Soul). He's been using fleece since the first week I got him. His poop is normal. Cage temperature is 72-74F. I've also tried to go the olive oil way, but nothing seemed to change. His temperament stays the same. Sleep cycle is regular. Eats regularly.

Old 08-24-2013, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)