Mites or just plain paranoia - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2018, 07:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Mites or just plain paranoia

Hi everyone, I am a new hedgie mom... I got Tazz as a gift on Sunday, as per my estimation he is around 1 yr old, I have no indication or knowledge of his actual age. Yesterday I realised that he has lost one of his spines and till now he has lost 5 more that I can spot. I have read on multiple sites about mites, shedding and quilling and I cannot come to a conclusion.

The spines he has lost all have the bulbs on and no powder residue, although if I scratch at the bulb's end with my nail it seems asif though it might have a piece of flakey skin attached to it.

When I first got him I saw that his skin was very pink with a reddish shade to it and it seemed dry, I bathed him with a foaming baby shampoo that contains wheat bran (which I received from his previous owner). I added the shampoo to the water instead of applying it directly on him, I also added a few drops of coconut oil to the water. This didn't seem to help much.

His eating habbits seem in good shape, as well as his bowel movements and he doesn't show signs of lethargy. I haven't noticed him scratching or biting himself and only once has he licked himself.

He seems aggravated and hisses at us when we try to pick him up, not as much as when we got him the first day. His behavior seems to be fine considering he is still adjusting to a new home. When out of his cage he does show some signs of curiosity, but only for a short while before burrowing himself under his blanket and then only peeps out now and then.

I am not sure wether this could just be stress related caused by his rehousing and maybe he is just overwhelmed, if he is just shedding or if he has mites.