Proud new owner of a Hedgie-saurus - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2014, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Red face Proud new owner of a Hedgie-saurus

Hello all!

I am a newbie hedgie owner. I've owned my new baby girl, Murphy, for about 2 weeks now, and despite reading all the books available in my library system and watching oodles of videos on youtube, being a hedgie owner is harder than I thought it would be! I wasn't expecting my hedgie-saurus to take to me in day one, but I can't help but get a bit frustrated when it feels like I make progress and then its like I take a few steps back.

I've gotten my hedgie to eat treats from me, but now she seems to think I'M the treat and always wants to chew on me. (She also seems to think my wedding ring is tasty too, which is weird.) I've had her on a towel in my lap as well as in bonding bags. Sometimes she'll explore, other times she won't even uncurl. Are hedgies usually this tempermental?

She has dry skin, which isn't being helped by winter making everything dry. I bought aveeno oatmeal wash and I want to give her a bath to hopefully relieve the itchies, but I don't want to traumatize her. Does anyone have any tips?
hedgiesaurus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2014, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)

Awww, welcome to the forum! It sounds like you didn't hit upon the wonder-resource during your research, this book written and maintained by a breeder (and forum-member). Read it. I promise it will help.

Yes, hedgehogs can be quite temperamental, and absolutely take a while to warm up. They reward our patience! This thread on behaviour expectations might be enlightening for you.