About to bring home my very first hedgie! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2013, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default About to bring home my very first hedgie!

Hello! I am new to the hedgehog community and I am about to purchase my very first hedgehog. I am looking for tips for first time owners and other information that I might need to know. I have been looking for a wheel and I saw one at Petsmart that claims it is for hedgehogs. Is that okay or what should I get? Also, what is your favorite food? I heard Purina ONE is a good choice. Thanks for your time! ~Maria
mnoyes1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2013, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: About to bring home my very first hedgie!

Hi Maria,
Welcome to the forum. Do some searching on this site under the titles for foods, wheels, cages, etc. We also have a member who wrote a book that you can download free - read it all - please. These will give you all the information you need - but please read them. There is a lot of information that has been gathered for you by people who know what they are talking about. Do this before getting your baby and wasting good money on stuff that may harm your baby.

Pet stores will claim to know what is good for a hedgehog, but most of them don't and check out the list of cat foods that contain the best ingredients for you hog. The research is all ready done for you.

Sorry if this sounds like a lecture, I don't mean it to. Again welcome. Hedgehogs rule!

Lisa
momIImany is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Welcome to HHC!