Hello! Introducing Mr. Henry - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By FinnickHog
  • 1 Post By HenrysMom9117
  • 1 Post By Ria

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2021, 02:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Smile Hello! Introducing Mr. Henry

Hi I'm very new to having a hedgehog, his name is Henry! And this is him! He is loving, social, and loves his crickets lol

I had him on paper bedding but switched it after only one cleaning (I've only had him less than 2 weeks) because I read about mites and the price is well... between a bunny and him, it's expensive!
I switched him to a regular bed sheet in the time being. He is doing great with it since last night, did his poops, pees, ate, and played on his wheel!
So my questions are..
I am looking into buying fleece and putting a layer of puppy pads underneath it.
1.Is there anything else I should be doing other than that? Should I be doing multiple layers or anything like that? And how often to machine wash it, and what detergent? I've watched YouTube videos and saw people just putting puppy pads and a layer of fleece.
2. Do you buy your fleece on amazon? Is there a certain type of fleece to get? And does it need to be sewed?

He gets 5 small crickets everyday to every two days, a very low amount of meal worms, and he is on the cat food called "Blue Buffalo, chicken and brown rice Weight Control, it is an orange bag". He lays down on the couch and watches tv with me for a total of about 2 hours daily as well, to get to know each other and become comfortable! He cage is always around 75 Degrees Fahrenheit to 77 Degrees Fahrenheit (I live in Canada it's freezing here lol) His heat lamp runs 24 hours a day (it is also the black heating lamp so he doesn't get confused between day and night) and I make sure it never gets hotter than 79 Degrees Fahrenheit.