Help with hedgie rescue - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Yukidama's mama

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2017, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help with hedgie rescue

Hello!

I took in a neglected hedgehog about 2 weeks ago. I was initially under the impression that the previous owner just didn't have time to spend with him, however it seems that he didn't have time to learn about or even care for the hedgehog. I know the basics about hedgehog care (I work in the animal care field and I'm studying zoology in college), but he's a bit of an advanced case.

To begin, Nosferatu, came with his nails curled around his little feet. It was evident that this was painful and, honestly, they were incredibly unhygienic (poop was crusted under and in all of them). It took a couple of days (he wasn't socialized whatsoever) to get them cut, but they are nice and short now.

The previous owner gave me 3 bags of Sunseed Vita Hedgehog food (the name is something along those lines), which I know is not the best diet as cat food is recommended. I haven't made the switch though because of the next issue: I fear he's too thin. He isn't plump like other hedgies I've seen and I don't think he has a "runners body". On all fours, it looks like his spine is protruding. I know that he eats (he sure does poop) but I'm thinking that the food just doesn't have the nutrition that he needs.

Any food recommendations to put weight on him?

The third problem I'm noticing is that he has very dry skin. I noticed that the bedding was getting stuck between his quills and I was concerned that it was what's drying out his skin, so I removed the recycled paper bedding that the previous owner was using and replaced it with fleece lining. I'm going to pick up Aveeno Baby Wash (with oatmeal) to give him a bath with in hopes of soothing his skin.

Any recommendations on helping his dry skin?