When is it ok to move mom and babies to a bigger cage? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2014, 06:26 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default When is it ok to move mom and babies to a bigger cage?

Hi, this is my first time with babies and I've been reading up like crazy to make sure I do everything right. I've found a lot of good information on pre-birth and the first two weeks post-birth, but I'm still a little fuzzy on when it's ok to ditch the temporary birthing/nesting set-up. When I suspected Mali was pregnant I made a small nesting box from a cardboard box (slightly bigger than a shoebox) and connected it to a bigger, open-topped box with PVC. She has used them exactly as I hoped she would: she goes into the bigger box to eat and drink and go to the toilet and run on her wheel, and she gave birth in the smaller box which i lined with kleenex. She had six healthy babies

She seemed a bit stressed the first two nights after her babies were born (she wasn't getting any sleep!) but she has been calm and as sweet as ever since then. She is eating a ton and they are growing up fast (they are ten days old now). She is extremely good natured and doesn't react when I lift up the lid on the nesting box to peek in on her when they are nursing. I also take her out sometimes when she comes into the other box to eat and hold her for a couple minutes.

I'm just wondering when it would be ok to move her and the babies into a bigger cage. They are quickly outgrowing the nesting box and she doesn't have much room in the other box either. I am currently working on a bigger&better cage setup than she had previously (prior to getting moved to the birthing boxes), and I would move all of them over there until it was time to separate them. Our plan eventually is to keep one and give away the rest to good homes.