!!! Surprise!!! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2019, 01:56 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default !!! Surprise!!!

Tonight I came home and heard some strange squeaking from my hedgehog cage.... there’s baby hedgehogs!! I freaked out because I thought the mom was eating them (there was blood but not a lot, also there were no baby hedgehogs last night) I don’t know, but they are squeaking a lot. I don’t have a heat set up yet (I’m in Florida) but my house is about 76. Help!! I’ve never had hedgehogs before this I have ZERO experience and I have no clue what to do. I’m literally still learning about them...I don’t know if she’s doing what she’s supposed to or if she’s eating them and it’s killing me..
Destiny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-07-2019, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ria

Theres a stickie you can read about surprise babies its called emergency baby advice.
But I dont know anything about it so read the stickie and wait for someone who does know to answer.

Last edited by Ria; 09-07-2019 at 02:35 PM.
Ria is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2019, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)

IF you only have one hedgehog, contact the breeder you got her from and ask if she was possibly pregnant when she came to you. Ask them for advice. If not, just do the best you can and research
Spiky_Floof<3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-08-2019, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)

To add on the only thing I can say is do not stress the mother out. Do not change anything in the cage. Just make sure to quietly and carefully change the water and food daily.
Old 09-09-2019, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)

Can’t you give the babies back to the breeder?