Hedgehog pregnant - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2019, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hedgehog pregnant

Hello! I did do a topic like this before about my hedgie Lola and she is 7 months!! I thought she was pregnant so I took her to the vet. They said she is so what do I do now? When do I stop holding her? When do I take out her wheel/other hides (I thought maybe keep one hide big enough for babies so she doesn’t go in the wrong one)? And when the babies grow up can I put the males in with the dad for a short amount of time before finding new homes?
Hedgeilover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2019, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

Hey there! I have no experience with raising babies unfortunately, but what I can comment on is separation. Putting the males with dad would not be a good idea (putting any of the kids with dad isn’t a good idea). He will likely get aggressive and attempt to kill them. I’d suggest to start planning now where you’ll keep them temporarily, even if it’s in a temporary plastic bin (hedgehog modified obviously). I know Nikki has experience raising hedgehogs, so maybe she or another with experience can comment further!
Aj.t is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2019, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)

Thank you!!! I heard that you “could” put the males together at one point temporarily but didn’t believe it because I thought it would cause problems since they are solitary animals. I will ask another experienced breeder for some questions I may have. And thank you again!!
Hedgeilover

Old 04-17-2019, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator

When was she last with a male? First thing you need to do is read all the threads in the breeding section, after that if you have more questions feel free to post them here.