SO Frustrated. - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree52Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2014, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Angry SO Frustrated.

Hi everyone. This is going to be a bit of a rant, so buckle up. I've only been a member of HHC for a few months and yet I've seen COUNTLESS posts by completely uniformed hedgie owners. I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. Among my favorites are "I didn't know hedgehogs needed a wheel", "But I can't afford that/don't want to spend that much", and "Do I actually need to heat my hedgehog's cage?". I spent months researching hedgehog's needs and behaviors before I got Rosie Mae and yet I'm still learning every day. That being said, it absolutely baffles me that people go out and just get a hedgehog on a whim. Newsflash: Hedgehogs are living, breathing creatures with very particular care requirements! They should NEVER under ANY circumstances be purchased just for kicks and giggles. It can cost hundreds of dollars to get everything that a hedgehog needs to live comfortably, and that doesn't even include the price of the little buggers themselves! If you can't afford to get a hedgie everything that he or she needs, then don't get one. Plain and simple. Apart from the basic physical care that a hedgehog needs, they need to be loved too! If you don't have the time to dedicate to forming and keeping a bond with your hedgie, then you should probably hold off on getting a pet. I'm by no means trying to sound high and mighty, it just really irks me that people take getting a hedgehog (or any pet, for that matter) so lightly.

MintyBanana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-18-2014, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)

i agree with what you say but not everyone is miss or uninformed just due to being careless or ignorant.