Grieving a lost hedgehog - Hedgehog Central – Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By beccadango

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2016, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Grieving a lost hedgehog

First time poster. I just wanted to share about my hedgehog and how I lost her as a form of therapy. It happened the morning of Tuesday November 15th 2016 and it was quite unexpected. This is an edit of something I'm posting on reddit because honestly I'd like some feedback and I don't feel I'll get any there. For starters, here is what she looks like:

http://imgur.com/SfK95qP

and you can follow my post history to see more. Lily meant a lot to me and got me out of a lot of dark places. I do not have any mental health issues but I am a nurse and see death a lot and the last year has been full of transition so losing a single constant that I loved deeply simply hurt. Also I feel I need to verbalize some issues around her death. I was there to the end and she did suffer which I’ll get into later but I need to organize them with this and get it out there. Also I feet I needed to ‘set the stage’ so you understood what kind of hedgehog Lily was. Also some background information. I’m a male nurse and also worked in a lab with small animals so I know a little pathology, Lily was a present to my ex, and I live with my ex girlfriend who is an intense program in school. I was supposed to get Lily when she gets a job and we separate because Lily and I were more attached. And if it isn’t already obvious, this is long.