Becoming a Hedgehog Welfare Society Rescue... - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2011, 09:45 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Becoming a Hedgehog Welfare Society Rescue...

I just have some questions regarding becoming a rescue for the HWS.

I know being a foster for a rescue organization usually means you provide a home for the animal and socialize, etc. them, but are given funds for vet care and food by the rescue... Would it be the same thing if I decided to be a rescue?

Just a question since I have been considering becoming a rescue for a long time, but as a student, I have limited funds..

Old 08-13-2011, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
PJM
Rescue

Default Re: Becoming a Hedgehog Welfare Society Rescue...

You can get $100 to help with vet costs up to a year after getting a rescue. (There are certain situations that would be considered a rescue, vs a rehome - like neglect or harm)
They can also reimburse some gas and in some cases a rehome fee. Funds are limited, so they do have a maximum amount they can reimburse.

It's made on a case by case basis.

It's not much, but just supposed to help out. One thing I considered before becoming a rescue was if I was willing to spend my own time & money, without reimbursement to help a hedgie in need - and how much I was willing to spend.

At the same time, if there is a desperate situation, there is always a way.

I hope that helps a little!

PJM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2011, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Administrator