A New Person: A Fictional Hedgehog Story - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By FinnickHog

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2016, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default A New Person: A Fictional Hedgehog Story

Let me give a bit of backstory first before I just plop this pile of fiction in your faces. I have a bachelor's degree in English, which is practically useless in a small town, and I've been having a tough time finding work online. While I was in school I focused on professional and creative writing, and I have piles of ideas for novels floating around in my head. With all the down time lately, I decided to finish the novel I've put the most progress into, so I've been chipping away at that. But these past few days I've had to stop and consider some plot alternatives, so I decided to do a few writing exercises to keep myself going.

This exercise was an attempt to write using a very different style than I usually do. I typically write dark humor, realism, sci fi, or light fantasy. I love hybridizing the four or blurring genre lines. But I hadn't written a cutesy, feel-good story in a long time. So that's what I have for all of you this morning.

Since I'm pretty much a writer by trade, I'm open to critiques, complaints, or any other comments. Let me know what you think! And thanks for having a look!

A New Person