This is not right - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2020, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default This is not right

So I made a post yesterday about Igor acting differently.
Last night was super cold, so I took Igor out of his cage early, here at 03:26 am.

Usually when I take him out at this time, he’ll run around my bed and have fun. Now... now he’s worrying me.

He’s sitting against me, unblinking, and unmoving. I can just see his little noise moving as he smells things.
It’s weird, and I’m scared sick. I’ve never seen him do this.

What can this behaviour mean? Is there something extremely wrong with him?
OddDarkMatter91 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-13-2020, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)

It seems like you need to get him warm, and keep him warm, fast. I am no expert but it sounds like he could be so cold he is attempting hibernation. Keep trying your best and maybe take him to the vet if he is still acting strange when it warms up again. Best of wishes
Spiky_Floof<3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2020, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)

Hey I just saw this after I replied to your last post. I didn’t ask this over there, but I was wondering if you have a heat lamp for his cage? Ceramic heat emitters are great, but they’re pretty pricey. I usually use a 100watt one and then keep it slightly off of the bed so it doesn’t get too hot. A thermometer is also a must. You’ll want the cage to be between 75-78 degrees F (fact check that just in case). Wishing Igor the best<3
Vallyrie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-16-2020, 05:17 AM   #4 (permalink)

I actually found a related post about this back in 2012. Apparently, these little stand stills and staring off to the distance is normal.