Hedgie Acting More Shy and Scared Than Usual - Hedgehog Central – Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2019, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hedgie Acting More Shy and Scared Than Usual

Hello! Long time browser, first time poster!

So I've had my hedgie (Olive) for about 6 months now, picked her up from her breeder at 8 weeks, and from the start she was very nice and outgoing, granted a little shy at the beginning. This is the second hedgehog I've owned so I have some experience under my belt.

Recently she's been very hissy and jumpy and I'm not sure why. I cuddle with her in a blanket and every time I make the slightest move she hisses and quills up (though not completely, just a little bit), even if my hand moves over the blanket and makes a shadow she does it. She's also biting me a lot more, I'm used to a bite or two a week but now it's every time I take her out. I try not to react and to keep petting and playing with her but she just keeps trying to bite me.

She's also been very energetic and spastic recently. Whenever I take her out of her cage in the evening she immediately starts running around and when I put her in her blanket she won't stop running around and sleep like she used to.

The only things I noticed that are different is that she's burrowing under her fleece at night (even though I keep the temp between 76-79), I started to mix in a little trail mix into her food every night (has dried mealworms, dried scramble eggs, etc.), and around the time she started acting differently I clipped a couple of her nails a little too short and they started to bleed (I made sure to keep them clean and free of infection).

I tried to cover all of my bases to make sure you guys have all the information you might need to help me solve this puzzle. Is she maybe just going through a bratty toddler phase?? Whatever help or advice anyone can offer is greatly appreciated!!