Help! I just got my Hedgie!! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nikki

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2018, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

This is my very first hedgie. Rosie seemed like a good animal when she was at the person’s house. She is 2 and not very friendly right now. She’s terrified of loud noises. I can’t pick her up at all. Every time I try, she jumps up and starts hissing. I want to pet her and take her out, but I’m scared. I’m not sure how to hold her or get to stop being scared. This is my first full day having her. Please help!
lm1110450 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2018, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)

Hi! I'm no expert, but I've had my hedgehog for 3 years, and I can give you some tips that have helped me with raising my hedgehog, and will hopefully help you out too Hedgehogs take a while to get used to their new surroundings, since they're naturally scared of everything. I know how it feels to want to pet and cuddle with your hedgehog, but bonding with them takes a while. It's best to leave Rosie alone for a while so that she can get used to her new surroundings. Place her cage in a quiet area of your house. I would suggest leaving an old shirt or towel that has your natural scent (not perfumes, lotions or detergents that you use) in her cage so that she can get used to your smell. Also! If you want to hold her, you can use a towel to help with taking her out of the cage Let her explore her surroundings while she's out
msh34 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2018, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Administrator