newbie food advice - Hedgehog Central – Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2009, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default newbie food advice

Hi Im new to the hedgehog world (I have posted in an intro thread to explain) and need some advice

I am getting a roughly 2 year old male hog in the next week or so and have been researching their care, food wise this is what I have been told, is this right, I also have a few questions

Good foods

Good quality cat biscuit, chicken flovour (low fat, high protein)
unseasoned cooked mince
Good quality wet cat food
Boiled eggs
lowfat yoghurt
lowfat cottage cheese
banana, melon, apple, pear, strawberries
cooked veg
mealie worms

Not to feed

seeds
grapes
lactose
fish
grapes
nuts
chocolate

Questions

Are hogs lactose intolerant, yoghurt and cheese appears regually on hog food lists?
I presume fruit should be fed sparingly due to the sugar but is there any thing else I should avoid like phosphous levels?
Veggies, do I need to avoid any thing?
Have I missed any thing, or is any thing on my list that you wouldn't recommend?
TortMad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2009, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: newbie food advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by TortMad
Are hogs lactose intolerant, yoghurt and cheese appears regually on hog food lists?
I presume fruit should be fed sparingly due to the sugar but is there any thing else I should avoid like phosphous levels?
Veggies, do I need to avoid any thing?
Have I missed any thing, or is any thing on my list that you wouldn't recommend?
1. I always wondered about that too, I never feed cheese or yogourt anyway
2. I was told by my vet not to give too much fruit because it can cause diabetese. But some ocasionly shouldn't do any harm

Gone, but never forgotten
Etsy shop: K52 artworks
K52 artworks on Facebook