How about this food (photo)? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2019, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default How about this food (photo)?

This looks like good Hedgie food, but I’m still learning so I ask your advice before I buy it. Thanks!
Buddysmom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2019, 07:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ria

I'll give you its not terrible hedgehog food.
But the protein is pretty high at 37% it recommended to keep it no higher than 35%
The freeze dried mealworms aren't good, too many can cause constipation, and they hole NO nutrients at all.
Also its contains different berries. It doesn't even look like its a biscuit at all.

To be honest all hedgehog foods aren't good. You'll be better looking at cat biscuits even small dog breed biscuit.
Ria is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2019, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)

In the grand scheme of things, it’s probably one of the better hedgehog foods I’ve seen. With that being said, there are some threads on this forum about hedgehog impaction (constipation) due to being fed too many freeze dried worms that they can’t properly digest. I’d suggest checking those threads out to assess for yourself. I’ve personally used freeze dried in the past but never as a staple in their diet which I can assume is where the major problems come in.
It’s true though that “hedgehog quality” foods are almost never up to par. I use a quality dry cat diet. Look for ingredients that list specific animal meals instead of ‘poultry’ or ‘fish’. The shrimp and crab is a great example- instead of listing ‘seafood’ meal they list the type. Just something else to consider!