Young Hedgehog Diet - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2012, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Young Hedgehog Diet

Hi everyone,

My hedgie is around 5 months old and I am currently feeding her Purina One Kitten dry food. She was raised on this food when I bought her from the breeder and she loves it but I have been noticing that she is starting to get a little overweight and is having trouble balling up. I do give her around 60 kibble pieces a day and she usually eats most of them. I was wondering if there is a better food to feed her (that can be found at big box stores) or if I should just cut down on how much I give her. This is my first time owning a hedgie so I'm not sure on how much I should be feeding her or what's the best options out there.

I'm also currently not giving her any treats outside of the kibble so I was wondering if you guys could suggest some good treat options (preferably not live insects since that's not an option).

Thanks!

jennayrich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2012, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Young Hedgehog Diet

Are you feeding Purina One Smartblend Healthy Kitten Formula Cat Food?

If that's the food you are feeding the protein is too high for a hedgehog (40%). Generally you don't want the protein higher than 34%.

Protein: 40%
Fat: 18%