CHE set up - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2013, 05:16 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default CHE set up

I feel sort of dumb asking.. But can someone explain to me a CHE set up (how to do it, where to buy online maybe) in like straight plain English! I seem to be reading too many things and confusing myself
Right now I have been keeping my room at 25c but somehow it hopped up a few degrees and my boyfriend believes if is much too hot, for hedgie as well as our room. She is still brand new to home, and I am still brand new to her, so we are trying to figure this all out properly!!!

I've been so worried about her going into hibernation, but now I could have possibly warmed it up too much in here for her. That's why I am thinking a Ceramic Heat Emitter is the best bet. And possibly a 'snuggle safe disk' under her bed? Then keep the room at a mild temperature or not heated at all.

Please give me any info! I would love links to exact websites I can buy from, and even the exact way to set things up would be amazing. Her cage is wire (with white coating) and a plastic bottom. I am thinking once we move (which won't be for a few months) of getting her a bigger cage, possibly a Tommy cage.
Sorry again if I am asking silly questions and am asking far too much! Worried mama
Bossyxox is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-29-2013, 05:49 AM   #2 (permalink)

Hello, fellow Canadian!

On our side of the border, your shopping friend is Pets & Pond, as it is far cheaper than dealing with cross-border Amazon.

How big is your cage? That will determine number of CHEs & wattage.
Annie&Tibbers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2013, 06:29 AM   #3 (permalink)

Your shopping list:

1. A thermometer (x1)