HELP! My hedgie has been throwing up lately - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2015, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default HELP! My hedgie has been throwing up lately

Hello everyone. I am new to to the forum but not new to hedgehogs. I am apologizing in advance for the length of my post. I am posting over concern for my 3 yr old female APH named Buckley. On Thursday of last week I noticed that there was dried vomit in her cage. I cleaned the vomit and took her out of the cage like i do every evening and she seemed fine. She was active and acted like her normal self. When I put her in her cage she went straight to her food and ate. Within a couple of minutes she vomited again. I scheduled a vet apt ASAP and was able to get her in Friday afternoon. I should note that she ate more food that night, drank water, and wheeled. Also she had normal urine and poop. There was no evidence of vomit the next day.

At the vet I described what had happened. The vet felt of her body to make sure everything felt normal. He was also able to take a fecal sample. He also took an x ray to rule out the possibility of a growth or obstruction. Everything seemed perfectly normal and I was sent home and told to monitor her. He also gave me a syringe and instructions to use in case there was loss of appetite. He also wanted me to get a photo of the vomit if it happened again. I will also note that the vet is specialized in exotics and is familiar with hedgies.