My hedgie is acting weird. I need help. - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My hedgie is acting weird. I need help.

I joined here because I just don't know where else to go. I'm a hedgehog noob.
I can't afford the vet, so I'm trying my best to find out what the problem is and if it can be treated at home.

My hedgehog is pretty young, maybe like 6 months? Or so I've been told. She was active and loved attention for the first while I had her.

I switched up her food because I couldn't find the same one she was eating.
I mixed it together with her old food so that I could slowly switch over to this new brand without upsetting her much.

I'm completely out of the old brand now, and I noticed immediately that she doesn't eat this new stuff as much.

But now I'm wondering if there's a reason why, rather than simply not liking it...

Lately she's been wobbling about with her eyes half open. She seems to still eat, but doesn't poop very much. Her water bowl is almost untouched. I gave her some scrambled egg, which she nom nom'd. Still no poop. She still runs on her wheel, but does so rather weakly.
She sleeps a lot too, of course. But she doesn't curl up into a tight ball.

I was confused for awhile as to whether anything was actually wrong, since she still ate and ran on her wheel.

Today I found her laying around, pretty unresponsive as I poked her. I picked her up, she went into a half-ball, and I put her on a heating pad with a towel. I noticed that there is brown flakey stuff caked on her face and ears. I can rub it off.

In the past, I have given her warm baths with a drop or so of olive oil, and wiped bits of polysporin on her to prevent skin issues. It seems I have failed.