My Hedgie is sneezing - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2011, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My Hedgie is sneezing

Hello Everyone!
I am new to hedgehog central and so far I love it. My question is that I just got my first hedgie about a week ago and since she has come home with me she has been sneezing. Not constantly but it's pretty regular. The third night she seemed a little off and would only open her eyes half way & started throwing up (three times in all), so being a new hedgie parent, I freaked out and took her to the closest Animal ER. When I got there the vet came out and said she knew nothing about hedgies and didnt know anything specific about their lifestyles so she gave me clavamox (antibiotic) and mixed some anti nausea meds in with it. Well that made her better but she still continues to sneeze every now and then and when she does mist comes out with it. I have made an appointment with a exotic animal vet but thats not until tomorrow, so I was wondering if anyone else has gone through a similar situation. Oh and by the way I got her from a pet shop and they didnt know exactly how old she was but said probably between 2 & 3 months. Thanks in advance for any help!

Old 01-14-2011, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hooked on Hogs

Default Re: My Hedgie is sneezing

How long has she been on the Clavamox? Is the sneezing decreasing in frequency? Sometimes it takes numerous days for symptoms to start to clear up and to be gone completely. How many days dosage is on? If 10 days, you may find you have to up it to 14.

Is she eating well? If you are unsure, count her kibble so you know exactly. Kibble in her bed also helps if they aren't feeling well.

What about temperature. Often when sick they require a bit warmer environment.

She is adorable.

Retired from breeding

Rescue contact for both the Hedgehog Welfare Society and the IHA