There is a mouse in the house! - Hedgehog Central – Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2010, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default There is a mouse in the house!

My husband decided to paint the living room today. (he is a painter by trade) And when we were moving the couch we found a pile of seed casings and what seems to be mouse poop. The thing is, those are seeds from my hedgehogs cage! And none of the treat or food containers have any holes! So I have come to believe that we have a mouse that has been sneaking into Brillos cage and stealing his treats. His cage was on the floor, but it has plexiglass all around the bottom half... although I don't think that would make a difference because mice can get into anything.

Anyways my question is, until the mouse is caught. Do you think Brillo will be okay? I don't know how long he has been sharing his cage with this unwanted "roommate". Also, do you think the mouse could carry anything that could potentially cause health problems with Brillo?

Old 01-21-2010, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: There is a mouse in the house!

That's a nightmare. Try and get an old fashioned mouse trap. I have read accounts where a mouse can attack a hedgehog. If this happens you will know about it because your hedgehog is likely to scream for help. You must get rid of it.
anna m is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2010, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)

lame! im sorry this is happening get a bunch of mouse traps, and before you go to bed put them out surrounding brillo's cage, and that should solve the mousey issue if youre completely against those mouse traps... i dont know what to tell you
heeyyparis is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-21-2010, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)