Biting - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kalandra

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2018, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Biting

hey there so I'm still new at being a heddgie mom so lately my girl princess has been biting now I got her at 6 weeks old and she is 15 weeks old now I wash my hands before and after each handling of my girl Princess 🦔👑 I spot clean her cage every day i fully clean her cage once or twice a week she eats great and snacks lots of shes and she is out of her cage alot of the day in her playpen or on me or she started running around my room lol however the last 9 days she has been biting me today I was just holding her watching a show and she chomped down and starting really biting for dear life now this is all new behaviour and I really don't understand where its coming from any advice and suggestions would be extremely extremely appreciated thanks in advance
Cassandra
princess08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2019, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

I took in an abandoned hedge that had a biting problem for a bit. It could be from stress or being nervous or uncomfortable. Hedgehogs don't normally bite. With Phyllis I would hold her regularly and randomly give her treats when I held her. If she bit, I wouldn't feed her treats, and I would blow a little puff of air on her. She stopped biting pretty quickly and just became more comfortable with me and her surroundings. It's also good not to pull away when being bit I think.

And sometimes it's not stress related, maybe they don't like your lotion or hand soap, or maybe you smell like another animal.
Walnutito is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2019, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Administrator