Hunger Strike- Medication and Feeding schedule - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2018, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hello everyone, my little boy Petey decided to stop eating and today I took him to the vet. The veterinarian prescribed Oxbow Critical Care (1 Tablespoon a day and they said to give it throughout, and to do 1/4 tablespoon at a time. 2 Parts dry product with 1 part warm water), Famotidine Suspension (0.25ml every 12 hours for 7-10 days),
and Sucralfate Suspension (0.25 ml every 12 hours for 5-7 days. Give one hour before or after any other oral medication).

I brought him back home at 4pm and started the feeding at 7pm. This is my first time doing it and it broke my heart to have to syringe feed but I want my baby to get better.
Instead of the curved 10ml syringe I used a 1ml syringe as I thought it would be easier at first, I was only about to get .5cc into him. I know that isn’t nearly enough for him but I don’t want to stress him out too much with this at once. He’s keeping it down and doesn’t seem to mind the food.

Since it’s night I haven’t done the medicine yet but I was thinking about doing this schedule for tonight but I don’t know if it would be too much for him.

At 8:30pm I’ll do the medicine that can only be done one our before or after the other.

Around 9:40pm I’ll do the next one.

And around 11pm I was going try to feed again, how much food should I try to get into him? Do I need to get up during the night to do this? My little boy generally only eats at night and sleeps in the day. On the rare occasion I do catch him drinking during the day.