Treatment for flaky skin - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Treatment for flaky skin

Hi! Sorry for having so many questions. I'm still relatively new to owning hedgies. :S

I am having a problem of dry, flaky skin with Cookie. I sometimes see her her scratching, but not often. I checked for mites, and she doesn't seem to have any. This is not constant. Sometimes, her skin is clean and sometimes very flakey, especially just before her scheduled bath.

Here are some possible reasons for this:

1) She really loves to play in her sandbox. The sand is natural sand from the beach of Boracay. I read somewhere that sand is a natural remedy/prevention for mites on hedgies. And Cookie positively loves to roll around in the sand. Most mornings I'd awaken to a very, very sandy hedgie.

2) It's been very hot and humid here. It's summer time in the Philippines.

3) Quilling. Cookie still seems to quilling. The quill loss is lesser now but can still see new spines growing on her back.

4) Frequent baths? I'm not sure if once a week is too frequent but I might be ridding her of her natural oils.

I've tried some remedies. I am using oatmeal soap for her baths. I also used to put olive oil on her during quilling but since she loves to play in the sand, this has been a very bad combination. The sand just gets stuck to her body with the oil. I also removed her sandbox for awhile and replaced it with a shredded paper dig box but she liked the sand better so I placed it back. The flaky skin just keeps coming back. It would be gone for awhile after the bath but then after a few days that skin's flaky again. Is there a permanent solution for this?

elithranielle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-22-2012, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Treatment for flaky skin, wheezing