Worried My Hedgehog is Sick - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By teddythehedgie
  • 1 Post By Lilysmommy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2016, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Worried My Hedgehog is Sick

Hi! I have a four-year-old male hedgehog named Odair. He's been losing quills for some time, but I just thought that was the shedding they do to get their adult quills. (But I'm no expert.) However, the loss has gotten very, very bad. There are quills all over his cage, and he has a very large bald spot on his back and his quills are getting sparse. I also believe he has lost a lot of weight (he definitely looks and feels skinnier), and the skin on his back is very, very dry--it looks flaky and lumpy. His diet mainly consists of a dry cat food, and he'll occasionally get yogurt chips (but I don't think he eats them) and freeze-dried crickets. There's always food in his cage (most of it knocked into the bedding), but when I fed him the other day he DIVED into it. I've done some research, and I wonder if he's gotten malnourished and needs a completely new, more "human," real-food diet? Research has also mentioned mites, but I haven't seen any, and I don't know if that accounts for weight loss? (My house was built in 1940 and we get occasional ant problems, and I think a few have been slipping into his cage recently if that has to do anything?) I'm trying to see what I can do before going to the vet and spending money I really don't have right now (broke college student), so I was wondering if anyone here could help? Thank you so much, from me and Odair!
odairthehedgehog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2016, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

What is the brand of food you are feeding? What type?