Hedgehog Central  Hedgehog pet care & owner forum

Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum (https://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Health (https://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Sick baby? (https://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11312)

YoYofranko 07-29-2011 09:52 AM

Sick baby?

Hi peeps, the other day we found a young hedgehog wondering around during the day, in past experience its never been a good sign to see one in daylight. Anyhow we took her home and other then a few ticks and some fly eggs around her eyes, she was still eating and drinking and seemed to be walking ok. We took her to the vets yesterday, she had a antibiotic jab and we're just waiting for some medication for lungworm. Today she seems to be worse, not eating as much and when i just checked on her, she was walking around sort of swaying and wobbling from side to side. What could this be? i'm no expert on hedgehogs. Do you think theres any hope for this little girl? we really want her to make it. :cry:

rivoli256 07-29-2011 10:27 AM

Re: Sick baby?

hmmm...could the antibiotic have made her sick (even the injectibles can make them feel icky) & given her condition, she become quickly dehydrated? that could account for the wobbly walk.

have you tried syringe feeding & hydrating her? sounds like it is a necessity at this point. i don't know where you are located but most pharmacies have 5 or 10 ml syringes for free or extremely cheap. there is a ton of good info here on what to use & how to do it...including an actual "how to" thread by Hedgehog Grove.

getting some nutrition into her could make a difference.