My piggy cage - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2019, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default My piggy cage

Hi, I am new to small pet world. This is my piggy cage, while waiting my 12inches wheel to arrive, then put a litter box underneath while pine wood pellet, is it ok?

Need comment on it, is it too small for her to live? The dimension for the cage is 76cm x 47cm. I live in a country only has 1 summer season throughout the whole year and my room temperature is around 30c degree without air conditioning (even with it only help to cool down 0.5 or 1 degree). Need to know from ya how do you keep your hedgehog cage cool at all time during summer season.

She is recovering from a skin infection. And also I discovered she drink a little less, maybe due to I changed hers food recently, which I have no idea, so I put another water bowl to monitor. Am trying to let her used to my scent more often hope she will get close to me soon!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190825_174156_1566726172156.jpg (61.0 KB, 40 views)
zinwei is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-25-2019, 07:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ria

Wheel size is perfect and If I remember right the pine pellet cat litter is fine.

That cage is wayyyy to small
7642cm only gives 3,192cm floor space which is by far too small.
I believe the absolute minimum is 100x51cm which gives 5,100cm floor space although bigger is better. And this is actually debated about even being too small for them.
115x49cm gives 5,635cm floor space which is okay but some people still think its too small.
115x61cm gives 7,015cm floor space which is even better for them and is more ideal space for them.
Ria is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2019, 08:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ria