Hello people, I'm new to hedgehogs... - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2008, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hello people, I'm new to hedgehogs...

Hello, nice to be here!
I am looking forward to getting a hedgehog soon...
I will be building a cavy style cage, for >10 square feet. I have a couple questions:

If I choose to feed my pet catfood, what is a good brand?

What is the best substrate?

I have done lots of research, and have a general idea of what is acceptable and unacceptable for use in hedgehog habitat. I am hoping for some tested and true testimonials to take the guess work out, and make some connections in the hedgehog central world!
Thanks,

Kara
Kara is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2008, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to Zalea Send a message via MSN to Zalea
Default Re: Hello people, I'm new to hedgehogs...

Welcome to the forum.
Most people prefer liners to wooden bedding. If you have easy access to a washing machine, they're wonderful. You can just take a piece of polar fleece and cut it to the size of the cage.
There's a sticky in the diet and nutrition forum with good catfood brands. https://www.hedgehogcentral.com/forum...c.php?f=6&t=15 If you're not going with something from the list, you should look for the first two or three ingredients to be meat based (avoid corn meal and things like that for the first ingredients), there should be about 30% protein, and 15-20% fat (the lower the better). All the foods on the list have 15% or less fat in them and are suitable brands (most aren't carried at stores like wal-mart, which doesn't carry good meat-based foods; a good pet store has most of them--I found mine at a Pet Supplies Plus store in my area). A lot of people like the Wellness brands, and Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover's Soul brand.