New Baby Hedgehog - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By kingem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2013, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Baby Hedgehog

Hi!

I have had my hedgehog, Toby, for about 2.5 weeks now, and he was about 8 weeks old when I got him. He seems to be adjusting fine, but I was wondering how long it generally takes hedgehogs to become completely comfortable with their new owners. Toby is fine with being held, but he isn't particularly social with me. Also, he only comes out from his hideaway when it's dark, and if I turn on the light while he's out, he just goes back in. Is this normal? I was wondering if there's anything I can do to help him learn to trust me. He is okay sleeping on my lap or in my hand while I am studying, so he is great company. Will he ever interact with me more than that?

If anyone has any tips relating to general hedgehog care, please let me know! Also, will Toby become more active during the day at some point? All he wants to do is sleep, and I feel bad waking him up!

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Toby1.jpg (109.8 KB, 17 views)
kingem is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-07-2013, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Welcome to the forum!

Short answer: All of that is perfectly normal! Most hedgehogs don't want to be out & about with a light on, and will hide if you turn one on while they're out in their cage. Any light being on can discourage some hedgehogs from ever getting up during the night, so it's an important thing to consider if they're in a room you use frequently.