Newbie here! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2009, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie here!

Hello there! I'm Alexis and I got my hedgie, Theodore, a week ago. I've been lurking on this forum and finally decided to join. x3 So, of course, i've some questions.

***Please note, I have used the search feature. So if I missed something, sorry. ^_^

1. Is there any certain cleaning solution I should use for the wheel? Right now when I do the weekly scrub down (I wipe it off each morning) I use Soft Soap and water. Is this okay for a hedgie? Or is there something better?

2. Our temperature isn't always constant, so I thought about buying a thermostat. However, all the petstores I went to didn't have them, but one did have a rheostat with no temperature number "settings" I guess you would say. It's a pain to be guessing the temperature, so I'm considering buying one from ebay or something. What kind of thermostats do you recommend?

3. I switched my bedding to fleece liners yesterday, and they work quite nicely. So, how do you clean them? I want them to be absorbent and comfortable, so if I do something wrong... yeah. So how do you clean them? Like, what detergent do you use if you put them in your washer? And what settings for washing? Do you air dry them? Or do you wand wash them?

4. Now, my hedgie's been exhibiting some strange behavior. Firstly, he pulses. Kind of like he's... slowly "humping" the air. What is this? Also, he licks his nose a lot. And he kind of "hiccups" as well. What is all this?

Sorry, I'm just full of questions. x_x
mammoths is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2009, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default Re: Newbie here!

Welcome to HHC! We love to see pics when you get a chance!