New hedgehog owner ; won't stop scratching and more. - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2019, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question New hedgehog owner ; won't stop scratching and more.

Hi! I am quite new to hedgehogs and got my first one about three days ago. I got Cashew from a woman who didn't want him anymore. I was told he was 8 months and a good boy. Any tips on making him used to me? He hisses but that doesn't bother me...

So, I couldn't help but notice now that he scratches himself a lot / doesn't really stop. I am a little worried but, should it really be something to worry about? Could it be mites? Could it just be quilling? Please, I am worried about my baby.

Another thing... I am very glad he uses his wheel but, his feces are everywhere on it. Of course, I wash it daily but are there any ways for him to stop? Is potty training easy?
eriri is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2019, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Emc

I adopted my Coco when she was around 7 months old so near enough to the age your guy is. Whenever I was home, I would have her in her fleece blanket and she would sleep on me while doing work on the computer, or even while watching a movie. Even though she was asleep for easily 90% of the time she was with me, it's still a great bonding experience and they'll learn they can trust you. At night time, when she was awake, I would just sit on the floor with all lights off and talk to her while offering insects; it took me a couple of weeks to get her comfortable with doing her nightly activities while someone was in the room, but eventually we got there. You can also give him an old t-shirt that has your scent on it, to get him more used to you. Adopted hogs can oftentimes be a little more work, but having patience with the process would be my best advice.