New to forum & ownership - Hedgehog Central – Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2019, 05:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to forum & ownership

Hello everyone! I have a few questions I would like your input on! I got Buddy 2 days ago so I’m still learning Buddy’s personality and hedgie behavior. So the first night he did what I thought was typical behavior, slept in his hide and ran on his wheel (along with eat, drink, poop and pee of course). But yesterday and last night was different. He slept in his food dish a few times and I didn’t hear (or see) him run on his wheel much. I guess my main concern is, is he ok? Is this normal? 🏻 Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8138A68E-098C-426D-95AF-E124A88CEA85_1555752382430.jpg (99.3 KB, 24 views)
Buddysmom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-20-2019, 05:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ria

I think it might be a getting used to his surroundings.
Did his wheel have any sign of being used - like having poo on it ??
To he honest for the first like week, when they are settling they tend to change how they act. The first day I got Holly she slept in her hide then for the rest of that first week and half the second week that I had Holly, she would sleep anywhere but her hide, I started to put her back into her hide to get her to know she can go in there, just incase she thought wasn't able to, I dont know if it really helped but she did start sleeping in her hide !!

For the wheel if you have one like the Caroline storm wheel you could try change the tilt so its more upright, most people find that helps. Another reason for not using the wheel could be due to getting used to surroundings, and another reason could be the wheel is too small so he struggles running comfortably - This is a much rarer one though since most people get the right size wheel.