My hedgehog is not very active, is this normal? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2019, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My hedgehog is not very active, is this normal?

Hi. I got a baby hedgehog, she is 4 months now. She is not very active, she basically hides under her bed all day and when I take her out of her cage to play, she doesn't really run or anything. I got her a wheel and some toys but she never plays. Is this normal?
feymartinez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2019, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Hi there. I'm no expert but check the basics... Is she warm enough? This is the first thing I'd check. Is she eating?
Shrewbat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2019, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ria

What temperature do you keep her at ?? Have you checked her belly to see if it feels a bit cold ?? Whats your lighting schedual ?? Is it pitch black dark im her cage when it should be or is there any light ??

These are all things that can effect how active they are. Also when settling in it can take them a few days to be more active
Ria is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-01-2019, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Yeah she eating, she eats a lot. I'm new w hedgehogs and the breeder told me that I just need it to keep her warm but he never mention anything about a hitting lamp or anything so to be honest I don't know what is the exact temperature but the room I keep her in is very warm. Now that you mention that, maybe she is just cold. Also she is not very friendly so I thought maybe that was the reason why she didn't wanted to play.
feymartinez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2019, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ria