Potential New Owner Doing Research - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2009, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Potential New Owner Doing Research

I'm thinking about getting a hedgehog so I'm trying to find out as much as I can before making the commitment.
I'm a college student living in a building that allows small animals in a state where hedgehogs are legal.
I have had small animals as pets before and I understand the time, responsibility, and heart that goes into owning a pet. This is not a fad purchase. I have thought about this for years but I lived in a state where hedgehogs were not legal. (I live in a legal state full time now)

My main concern is expenses. I need to know how much it will cost to properly care for the hedgehog. Let's say... per month. How much will I be spending?
I don't want to purchase the animal and then be broadsided by a large financial burden. I can afford the actual purchase of the pet, I know. But I'm talking long term care.
youngestmm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-12-2009, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default Re: Potential New Owner Doing Research

Initial expenses will be the hedgehog, cage, wheel, and other things for the cage. Cages, if you build a C&C one, will cost about $50-60, I think. Wheels are about $15-25, depending on what kind you get and the store. You'll also have to think about how you're going to heat the hedgehog's cage. You can use either a ceramic heat emitter (I'm not sure how much it cost for the set-up, but it's a bit expensive), or a space heater (I got mine for $35, but I've been told that's on the cheaper side). Space heaters heat the whole room, so they take more power, especially if the room is big. Ceramic heat emitters heat only the cage, and don't take as much power.