Bonding Question??? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2012, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)

Exclamation Bonding Question???

Alright well I'm a hedgehog newbie and i finally picked up my first baby a little over a week ago & i noticed that she's quilling... she's 7 weeks. I'm trying not to hurt her too much when picking her up, but she always balls up when i go near her, so i have to pick her up with a blanket... i try to pet her, and i try to play with her, but she keeps freaking out when i go near her... i know we're supposed to bond with our hedgie at least 30 min everyday, but this is the best i can do... if she falls asleep on a blanket on me, does that count as bonding/handling??
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2012, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Bonding Question???

My Agatha was incredibly friendly towards me from the start, but I am aware that this is not that common. She doesn't like to play at all, and at first she didn't like it when I got near her face, however I have noticed that only by letting her sleep on top of me things got even better and now she doesn't huff nor puff anymore, and that is only with me because to everyone else she reacts a lot and doesn't let them near her, specially not near her face. So, I don't know much about other hedgehogs, but with Agatha just by being beside me not even petting her nor playing with her counted as bonding

Agatha's birthday: 24-December-2011
vasogoma is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2012, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)

Yes, it counts! Just sleeping on you is still letting her get comfortable with your smell, and your movements and sounds. And talking to her quietly may help too as she will get used to the sounds of your voice and associate it with comfy feelings.