New to Hedgies. - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2011, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to Hedgies.

Hello all! I am new to the fourm, and new to hedgies!I am planning on getting a hedgehog in a year or two, and will be doing research until that time. However, I have come across a few things that may not make a hedgehog the best fit for my lifestyle, and had a few questions. First of all, I have two parakeets right now, and understand what it can be like to have a pet that will hide illness until the last moment, and then rack you up a huge vet bill. However, although I would have the funds for vet bills, it wouldn't be ideal for me to have to go to the vet very often, so do hedgies need regular check ups, and other than cancer, are there any other diseases that will make trips to the vet very costly? Second, I realize that there is a lot of poop involved, and believe me, I'm used to that with having the birds, but other than that are there any other cons to owning a hedgie? Are they as low maintenance as everyone says? And do they smell? Thanks in advance for any help!
HedgehogNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2011, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default Re: New to Hedgies.