The Hedgie Checklist! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2011, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default The Hedgie Checklist!

I'm about to go get my little one tomorrow, but I'm sure I still need plenty of pointers from owners, since I'm brand new to hedgehogs. For her cafe, I have:

Water Bottle
Litter Box
Decent-sized wheel ( plastic, no holes to get into! )
Food Bowl
Hide-Away Home
Rock Garden ( smooth black river rocks, polished and no sharp edges )
Lamp for light ( I would like suggestions on time. Her cage is near my window, so I was considering letting nature handle the light problem -- good or bad idea? )
Thermometer ( can't be too careful )

I have a good brand of cat food as a staple and plan on getting crickets and mealies to help her along : )
I am worried about heating -- would it be a good idea to wrap the cage on one side with a blanket/sheet to protect from a ceiling fan? I usually have it turned off now in ancitipation of her.
Working on getting some clean TP tubes for her, too, just so she can be silly! And of course, a very worn shirt of mine
Another thing -- I hear all about putting these little pokey-guys and gals in hoodie pockets. Is this really a good idea or a disaster waiting to happen?

Any suggestions and advice would be GREAT!
Mohawk Pride is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2011, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: The Hedgie Checklist!

Congrats on becoming a new hedgie owner!

Using the window for light is not the best idea for two reasons: