Getting a hedgehog on Sunday? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Getting a hedgehog on Sunday?

I'm getting a four month African Pygmy hedgehog this Sunday. The lady that currently owns him told me that he usually poops when taken out (due to fear, I'm guessing?) I've been Googling hedgehog poop and found nothing LOL! I just want to know what I'm in for. She told me that he hisses a lot, also. This is my first time owning a hedgie so I want to be fully educated as possible! How can I get him used to me handling him? How should I hold him and take him out? She has two tubs put together for a cage (I'm thinking of buying a new one later when I get him, I'm not sure if I can attach a picture of the cage here), she has holes cut in them and two paper towel rolls stuck out through to get to the other tub, I'm guessing? She said she bought a sleeping bag for him on Ebay and he loves it, do I still need something to produce heat? What can I use and where should I place it? http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos- ... 1264_n.jpg (That's the 'cage') What would be a better cage for him? How about a big rabbit cage or something? Do I use shavings or fabric for the bottom of its cage? How big should he grow? I have so many questions! Mostly how am I going to get him used to me, though. Please help! This is my new baby http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos- ... 4093_n.jpg
elishax is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2011, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Breeders

Default Re: Getting a hedgehog on Sunday?