Hard to hold my active little guy! - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2011, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hard to hold my active little guy!

Hey all! I am new to both hedgehogs and the forums here I've spent hours reading through, and have learned a lot!

My question might have been answered but as I've been sifting through, I notice most people just have issue with their little guys curling up into a ball. So onward we go to my question...!

I've only had my little guy for a few days now, but I'm trying to make sure to hold him for at least a few minutes a day because I want to bond with him and get him used to it! My problem is that he's such an active little explorer that he just doesn't seem to want to be picked up or held. When I go in to scoop him up, he just darts away. If I DO get him in my hands, he doesn't sit still and starts to try to run around. (I must also admit that since I'm a new hedgie owner, I'm still a liiiiittle intimidated by his quills .

I don't mind that he's so active, I love that he's an explorer! But I want to make sure we are bonding. I don't know how to be able to hold him while he's so ready to just go go go. He even does this when I wake him up during the day in the middle of sleep time. The minute hands or outside of his cage are involved, he wants nothing to do with being held and just wants to go explore. I try to get him to just explore *on* me, where I'll let him run around and then pick him up and put him back on me when he starts to leave but this brings me back to the whole "he darts away when I go to scoop him up." So mostly he just ends up running around my room.

Any advice or suggestions to be able to bond a bit more?
KittyPryde is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-09-2011, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Breeders