Some Questions about Care - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2011, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Unhappy Some Questions about Care

Hey, I'm a newbie here. I'm planning on getting a hedgehog next summer, in the meantime I'm researching and saving up. I've got a couple of questions:

1) I live in an old house, and my room is where I will keep the hedgie. For the chilly winters I'm planning on getting a CHE, along with a light, but I'm wondering more about the summer time. I don't have air conditioning, and my room gets really hot. I've only really heard about things to keep hedgies cool for a short period of time, not so much in the long run. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas that might last long term other than putting in air conditioning. Would a fan be too disruptive wind wise? Are there any little 'cool house' designs where your hedgie can go into? I've only heard bad things with hedgies getting too cold. How exactly would they react to heat? Is too hot just as risky as too cold?

2) Another thing I was wondering about was baths. How many times should you give your hedgehog a bath? Can you tell if they are getting dirty? I think I understand the whole bathing process, and I've given other tiny creatures baths before that are similar, like hammies and stray kittens, so I think I'll be okay in that regard. It's just the how much part that is a bit confusing. Every year? Every month?

3) Finally, this is calling out to everyone in Kingston area Ontario that has hedgies. I'd like to get to know you guys and to have people close by that I can talk to or possibly email if there are any problems, or just to have nice hedgehog talk with.

4) Finally, if you are from this area, what vets are the best? Also, where did you get your hedgie from and what prices should I expect?