First time hedgie owner, adult hedgie. Need help - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2011, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)

Unhappy First time hedgie owner, adult hedgie. Need help

Okay so I just got my hedgie Squiggy yesterday, and this is my first time owning a hedgie even though I've wanted one since I was 10. Im pretty sure Squiggy is already full grown, and I was told he is a white bellied Cinnamon. My biggest concern is that he doesnt seem to be social at all, and even though I'm extremely gentle when picking him up (I use an old plain tshirt to scoop him from the sides) he constantly hisses and growls . Im making sure to let him get used to my home, hes got all the right food, plenty of water, ventilated cage, Aspen bedding, and a hedgie safe wheel. I'm being patient and just letting him get used to my presence while occasionally stroking his quills. (Mealies seem to be a big hit with him and usually work to get him to uncurl) I've got a few simple questions I'm looking for help with.

What should I do to make him more social? And how can I tell how old he is? Also, the only toy I can offer is a golf ball and he just hisses at that too. (He's much too big for a toilet paper tube) Any ideas for toys suitable for an older hedgehog?

Rest peacefully and sweet dreams little Thalia 8/25/2012 Mommy and Daddy miss you <3
SquiggyTheHedgie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-27-2011, 02:34 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: First time hedgie owner, adult hedgie. Need help

What should I do to make him more social?