2 Hedgehogs find new home after little girls grow bored with them... - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog Central GalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2015, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 2 Hedgehogs find new home after little girls grow bored with them...

Hello everyone,

I am a teacher and I took in a pair of hedgehogs after a local mom contacted me and asked if I would like her daughters' pets...it was the usual story of the animals not getting enough attention. As I am an avid animal lover and have rabbits, guinea pigs, a rat, and 3 small dogs, I did some precursory reading on hedgies and told the friend I would take them on.

After meeting and taking the hedgies (I just got them on Friday), I am a little stumped. First - I'm freaked out to pick them up because they are scared and curl up. Though, I've probably read 20 articles on this now and I have a plan of attack. I have left them alone for the first few days just so they could get used to the smell of the new environment and get over the stress of the car ride.

The former owner had no idea what their gender is and was housing them together. 1 of the hedgies is 1 and a half years old. The other is 1 year old. She said they "love each other" and "need each other" and sold me a song and dance about how hedgehogs are "social animals" and that was why she got the 2nd one (because the first one was lonely). Yeah...she clearly had not done HER research. I found out very quickly that what she was telling me was not true.

My question is that if I DO have 2 girls, is it probably OK for me to let them continue to cohabitate? Obviously in any other scenario I will seperate them. I have another cage as back up in case. One of the hedgies won't uncurl for humans (more on that later) so I am not sure how I will sex that one...