Little Black Bugs? - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog CentralChatroomGalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2011, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Little Black Bugs?

Hi, I'm really new to the hedgehog scene, and i got a hedgehog from my friend. It had a lot of little black bugs all in its cage, and some on it. I power washed the cage, and gave the hog a bath with water only and brushed it. Whats going on? Should i be concerned? How do i treat this if its a health issue?
Thanks, Jordan
JordanWhiteboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2011, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Little Black Bugs?

Are these little black bugs jumping around by any chance?

I would put my money on FLEAS. Fleas are small, black and really jumpy. In fact if you grab one and look at it closely and then google fleas, you can see if they look alike.

The only safe thing to use on hedgehogs is REVOLUTION. It treats fleas as well as mites. You would get this from a veterinarian's office. the standard dosage is 0.01ml/cc per 400g of your hegdehogs weight... and 3 dosages of that 2-3 weeks apart. That being said, vets are now finding you usually need more revolution than that so you should get a dosage from your vet if you can (should be around 2-3 drops from the bottle itself). You'll have to clean the cage out too (don't use any "flea" products though... those things are deadly!) I would just use a 50/50 water vinegar solution. fleas are super hard to get rid of though, so you're going to probably have to clean the entire room the hedgehog's cage is in.

Whatever you do PLEASE DO NOT use "flea" products from the pet store on your hedgehog. These are toxic to dogs and cats and I've heard so many horror stories of them dying from it. ONLY revolution is safe (DO NOT let your vet prescribe a product called "Ivermectin" either!)