Hedgies in Maine - Hedgehog Central Hedgehog pet care & owner forum
Hedgehog CentralChatroomGalleryForum Archives Facebook Link

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2009, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to xsarahjox
Default Hedgies in Maine

I was wondering if anyone has any information about the two permits that are needed to own hedgehogs in Maine. Has anyone ever heard of the fish and wildlife commissioner actually approving an application or am I throwing away $50+?

Here is my situation:

I'm a student in Salem, Massachusetts but my legal residence is in Maine. My permanent address is in Salem, but I need to live here for another year before I'm technically a Mass. resident. Anyhow, hedgies are completely legal here, thus I got Ivan. However, most of my family is in Maine and I find myself stuck when I want to go visit them since I don't want to take a chance of getting caught with Ivan in Maine.

I've been considering applying for the permits needed to own a hedgehog in Maine but I don't know if it's necessary or even possible for me to acquire one. The website is completely unhelpful.

I was just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Maine policies or has been through anything similar in other states. I'm open to suggestions as to what I should do.
Advertisement

Old 10-27-2009, 11:18 AM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to Zalea Send a message via MSN to Zalea
Default Re: Hedgies in Maine

Are you planning to move back to Maine in the future, or is this just a "for visits" issue? If it's just for when you're going to visit, I doubt you need a permit. A health certificate from the vet and a legitimate Massachusetts driver's license (I'm assuming you've changed over, or do you have to wait to get that? Where I live, you're required to switch within 30 days of moving in from another state) should be enough to prove you're not a permanent resident anymore, and the hedgie will be going out of state shortly.